Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District

Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc. (SEAEDD) was organized and began operation in 1967 under the provisions of the United State Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965.  Headquartered in Pine Bluff, SEAEDD serves ten counties in Southeast Arkansas: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Grant, Jefferson and Lincoln.  With a staff consisting of eleven highly professional individuals experienced in economic development, community development, workforce training and waste management, SEAEDD assist local governments with administering grants and program opportunities made available from State and Federal sources.
Counties Grant | Jefferson | Arkansas | Lincoln | Cleveland | Desha | Drew | Bradley | Ashley | Chicot

Summer 2020 Outreach Summary

The Arkansas Economic Development Institute conducted interviews and surveys to help assess the needs of Arkansas’s communities among the eight development districts during the start of the COVID-19 outbreak. This section summarizes these findings for the Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District.

Miscellaneous Interview Comments

In SEAEDD, the following types of businesses have been affected by COVID-19:
Convenience stores | Boutiques | Flooring mill
7.1% of SEAEDD businesses that were closed summer of 2020 will likely close permanently due to COVID-19

SEAEDD Advisory Committee Members

Rick Hales
Mayor, Arkansas City

Hunter Selvey
Field Representative, Office of Congressman Rick Crawford

Rose Bates
Employment and Training Case Manager, University of Arkansas at Monticello

Allison J. H. Thompson, CEcD, FM, EDFP
President and CEO, Economic Development Alliance for Jefferson County

Cathi Swan
Director, Arkansas River Education Service Cooperative

Dr. Peggy Doss
Chancellor, University of Arkansas at Monticello

Jon Lafoon
Superintendent, Star City School District

Mellie Bridewell
Chief Executive Officer, Arkansas Rural Health Partnership

Richard Tindall
Judge, Desha County

Todd Potter
President, Bank of Lake Village