Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District

The Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District (NWAEDD) was established in1968 to provide planning, community, and economic development services within the nine Northwest Arkansas Counties of Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy and Washington. Since the District’s inception, the scope of these services has grown and developed to include a large diversity of programs, activities and initiatives.

Our Mission: To afford local governments and citizens a regional forum to identify issues and opportunities; and to provide leadership in planning and implementing programs to improve the quality of life in our District.
Counties Benton | Washington | Carroll | Madison | Boone | Marion | Baxter | Searcy | Newton

Summer 2020 Outreach Summary

The Arkansas Economic Development Institute conducted interviews and surveys to help assess the needs of Arkansas’s communities among the eight development districts during the start of the COVID-19 outbreak. This section summarizes these findings for the Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District.

Miscellaneous Interview Comments

In NWAEDD, the following types of businesses have been affected by COVID-19:
Thrift stores, flea markets, antique shops | Tourist industry | Hotels | Resorts on the river | AirBNBs | Tech companies | Autobody shops | Manufacturers
9.6% of NWAEDD businesses that were closed summer of 2020 will likely close permanently due to COVID-19

NWAEDD Advisory Committee Members

Jackie Crabtree
Mayor, City of Pea Ridge

Mickie Pendergrass
Judge, Baxter County

Bob Largent
President and CEO, Harrison Regional Chamber of Commerce

Teri Garrett
Field Representative, Office of Congressman Steve Womack

Bob King
Business Owner, Searcy County Chamber of Commerce

Vince Leist
President and CEO, North Arkansas Regional Medical Center

Steve Clark
President and CEO, Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce

Sandy Martin
Founding Member, C3

Joseph Wood
Judge, Washington County

Scott Edmonson
Vice President of Economic Development, Springdale Chamber of Commerce

Jerry Jackson
Mayor, City of Harrison

Dr. Robin Myers
President, Arkansas State University – Mountain Home

Angela Visger
Owner, El Mexico Lindo

Dr. Ricky Tompkins
Vice President of Learning, Northwest Arkansas Community College

Jason Tenant
President and Chief Lending Officer, Cornerstone Bank

Jeff Wood
Public Relations, Tyson Foods

Taylor Hasley
Executive Director, Startup Junkie

Randy Wolfinbarger
Owner, Inn of the Ozarks

Jeff Cantrell
Director, Ozarks Unlimited Resources

Dr. Randy Esters
President, North Arkansas College

Hillrey Adams
Mayor, City of Mountain Home

Mike Johnson
Vice Chancelor of Facilities, University of Arkansas

Jack Murders
Marshalltown Tools

Barry Moehring
Judge, Benton County